Babar Azam discloses why Aamir Jamal and Mohammad Haris were not selected

Pakistan’s skipper for white-ball cricket, Babar Azam, explained why Aamir Jamal and Mohammad Haris were left out of the squad for the matches against Ireland and England.

Speaking at the team’s pre-departure press briefing, Azam talked about why Jamal and Haris weren’t chosen for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 squad.

“Haris didn’t see much action post the T20 World Cup [in 2022]. Despite a stint in the Pakistan Super League (PSL) 9, his performance didn’t hit the mark,” stated Babar Azam, addressing the media.

He highlighted Haris’s proficiency as a top-order batsman, juxtaposing it with the already established top-order lineup featuring himself, Mohammad Rizwan, Saim Ayub, and Fakhar Zaman, which led to limited opportunities for Haris.

“Haris operates in the top order alongside me, Rizwan, Saim, and Fakhar, hence the constrained opportunities,” he added.

Acknowledging Aamir Jamal’s prowess as an all-rounder, Azam delineated that Jamal’s standout performances have predominantly been in Test cricket, underscoring the disparity between Test and T20 cricket.

“Aamir Jamal has showcased his mettle in Test cricket. However, the transition to T20s requires a different skill set. He needs more exposure and game time to refine his game for T20 cricket,” Azam concluded.

T20I series against Ireland

The Pakistan men’s cricket team is presently engrossed in a three-day training regimen ahead of their impending three-match T20I series against Ireland.

Scheduled to depart for Dublin on May 7th, the team will lock horns with Ireland in three T20Is at Clontarf on May 10th, 12th, and 14th, with all matches commencing at 3 PM local time.

This series, along with four T20Is in England, will help Pakistan get ready for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, happening in the West Indies and the United States.

The Pakistan squad for Ireland and England T20Is includes Babar Azam (c), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Irfan Khan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Salman Agha, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, and Usman Khan.

Earlier today, the ICC revealed the contenders for the prestigious Player of the Month Award for April 2024, spotlighting outstanding cricket performances worldwide.

Related Articles

Back to top button